Reflecting Back, Looking Forward

2009 was a trying year for many of us. It was certainly the most tumultuous year of my life. So today, the first day of a new year and decade, also the day I finally launch my new blog, I would like to reflect on this past year as my way of saying goodbye and proclaim all the ways 2010 will be different.

In 2009…

  • I had my first real heartbreak.
  • I was laid off from a dead end job, which turned out to be the best thing that ever happened to me.
  • I pushed myself to go outside of my comfort zone and network with the NYC tech and PR community. I met many amazing professionals who became much more than business contacts. They became friends.
  • As a result, I spent several months immersed in the company culture of theKbuzz, where the staff became a permanent part of my family.
  • I immersed myself in work so much that I lost all sight of my life on the outside.
  • I lost touch and later reconnected with some of my oldest and dearest friends in the world.
  • I started speaking to my mother again after months of radio silence.
  • I took risks, which paid off for the most part.
  • Time and time again, I let fear keep me from living up to my full potential.
  • I didn’t always keep my word.
  • I made many mistakes.
  • I began the year with a clear vision of my ideal destination personally and professionally, but that vision became very blurry.

I met and got to know many amazing individuals who each had a valuable lesson for me. Some of these people are…

In 2010…

  • I will keep my word.
  • I will finally and actually move out of my current apartment.
  • I won’t let fear paralyze me.
  • I will take more responsibilty for my actions.
  • I will not get caught up in the negative.
  • I will remember all the ways I am lucky not the least of which is because I am alive.
  • I will be on time!
  • I will try to detach myself from my phone more often.
  • I will publish blog posts on a regular basis.
  • I will continue making lots of mistakes.
  • I will meet many more amazing people and learn many more life lessons.
12 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

12 responses to “Reflecting Back, Looking Forward

  1. Happy New Year Biana! I look forward to reading more excellent blog posts here.

  2. JennBee

    Congrats on the blog, Biana! We will celebrate with some cake at Cafe Lalo soon πŸ™‚ Happy New Year!

  3. *giggling* thank you, sweetpea. Keep up the amazing work, and if you ever need big sisterly advice or some music in your ears, you know how to find me *HUGS*

  4. Paul Johnson

    Great stuff. Lots of people are in your corner. I’m rooting for you, too. Happy New Year.

  5. I give you props for being so open and honest on your first blog post – I’ve been blogging for a while and don’t think I’ve ever been so personal. I’m looking forward to reading all of your adventures that await in 2010!

    • Haha Helen you should know me well enough by now to know that I always err on the side of over-share rather than being too reserved. I can’t wait to write a post about the epic Scrabble battle that I almost won against Yoda. πŸ˜‰

  6. Aw, thanks, B! Even before we “met” in person, I was struck by how quickly and wholeheartedly you volunteered to promote SM4SC NY. Beyond that, you’re a great person to walk around New York and drool over furniture with!

    Happy New Year, Biana. I hope to catch you in NY soon!

Leave a Reply

